Design Patents

The design patent is a registered industrial design to protect the ornamental or aesthetic design of a product. The design patent is used to protect such things as household appliances, furniture, lighting fixtures, electrical appliances, or bathroom fixtures. 

The design patent requires that the design be new and innovative at the time of registration. The overall appearance of the design must differentiate itself from any existing designs. At the time of registration only a formal review is conducted, excluding the verification of the design’s ingenuity or innovation.

In addition to applying for a design patent in Germany, we can also register your industrial design at the Office for the Harmonization in the Internal Market in Alicante to provide for protection throughout the European Union. 

When registering your industrial design we ensure that all necessary steps are taken throughout the process. 

We will take all steps to defend your registered industrial design in cases of infringement, including litigation.

Geschmacksmuster

Das Geschmacksmuster ist ein gewerbliches Schutzrecht, das speziell für die ästhetische Gestaltung eines Produkts geschaffen wurde. Beispielsweise lässt sich durch ein Geschmacksmuster das Design von Haushaltsgeräten, Möbeln, Leuchten, Elektro- und Sanitärartikeln schützen.

Das zu schützende Design muss am Anmeldetag neu und eigenartig sein. Der Gesamteindruck eines Musters muss sich von dem Gesamteindruck unterscheiden, den ein anderes, bereits offenbartes Muster hervorruft. Zur Eintragung des Geschmacksmusters müssen lediglich formelle Voraussetzungen erfüllt sein, Neuheit und Eigenart werden nicht geprüft.

Neben der Möglichkeit, das Geschmacksmuster beim deutschen Patent- und Markenamt einzureichen, besteht die Möglichkeit, mit einer einzigen Anmeldung beim Harmonisierungsamt für den Binnenmarkt in Alicante einen einheitlichen Schutz für alle Länder der Europäischen Union zu erlangen. 

Wir übernehmen für Sie die Anmeldung des Geschmacksmusters und begleiten das Eintragungsverfahren. Wir setzen Ihre Rechte aus dem Geschmacksmuster durch und verteidigen Sie, falls Sie von einem Dritten aus einem Geschmacksmuster angegriffen werden.